2027 Tesla Model Y Price: New or Used Value

The current public record supports one firm 2027 Model Y price: the six-seat Model Y L Premium starts at $61,990 before Destination and Order Fees, or $63,630 including them, before tax and other charges. Tesla has not published matching 2027 prices for every trim in the supplied sources. New value rests on promotional financing and full warranty; lightly used value rests on a lower asking price that must outweigh remaining warranty, transport, and loan terms.
How much is the 2027 Tesla Model Y before taxes and fees?
The published 2027 starting price is $61,990 for the Model Y L Premium before Destination and Order Fees. Tesla’s Model Y page puts the same vehicle at $63,630 after those two fees and before taxes and other charges.
That $1,640 gap is the cleanest starting point for an out-the-door worksheet. Add sales tax and registration only after checking the rules at the delivery address. The supplied sources do not publish a national tax amount or a registration amount. Those are local costs, not Tesla trim costs.
Price certainty ends there. Tesla’s current lineup information names Premium RWD, Premium AWD, Performance AWD, and Model Y L Premium, with EPA-estimated ranges of 355, 327, 306, and 332 miles. It does not provide a 2027 starting price for the first three trims in the supplied material. A blank is better than a false number.
| Option | Who it suits | Published cost before tax | Key limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2027 Model Y L Premium | Buyers needing six seats and 89 cubic feet of cargo space | $61,990 before Destination and Order Fees; $63,630 including them | Public source material does not state a separate tax or registration total |
| 2027 Premium RWD | Buyers prioritizing the listed 355-mile EPA-estimated range | Not published | Current supplied sources give no 2027 price |
| 2027 Premium AWD | Buyers wanting all-wheel drive with a listed 327-mile EPA-estimated range | Not published | Current supplied sources give no 2027 price |
| 2027 Performance AWD | Buyers accepting the listed 306-mile EPA-estimated range | Not published | Current supplied sources give no 2027 price |
| 2026 Model Y Standard RWD | Price benchmark only | $39,990 MSRP | It is a 2026 vehicle, not a 2027 quote |
| 2026 Model Y Long Range AWD | Price benchmark only | $48,990 MSRP | It is a 2026 vehicle, not a 2027 quote |
FuelEconomy.gov lists the 2026 Standard RWD at $39,990 and the 2026 Long Range AWD at $48,990. These figures are useful markers, not promises for the 2027 lineup. Reuters reported Tesla introduced a $41,990 U.S. AWD Model Y variant in February 2026. Tesla pricing moves. A saved quote can age fast.

Which 2027 Model Y trim has the best value?
The Model Y L Premium has the strongest documented value case for a buyer who needs six seats; the best value for every other buyer cannot be priced from the published 2027 data alone.
The L carries 89 cubic feet of cargo space. Regular-wheelbase Model Y versions carry 76 cubic feet. Its listed 332-mile range sits between Premium RWD’s 355 miles and Premium AWD’s 327 miles. The extra row is the point. Buying it for cargo room or seating makes the $61,990 starting figure easier to judge; buying it only for range does not.
For new cars, warranty separates the trims. Tesla lists a 4-year or 50,000-mile Basic Vehicle Limited Warranty for every new Tesla. Tesla lists 8 years or 120,000 miles of battery and drive-unit coverage, with minimum 70% battery-capacity retention during the warranty period, for Premium RWD, Premium AWD, and Performance AWD. Tesla’s published range figures are estimates, not a promise for every route, weather condition, wheel choice, or driving pattern.
Energy use belongs in the comparison. FuelEconomy.gov estimates annual electricity costs of $550 for the 2026 Standard RWD and Long Range RWD, $600 for Long Range AWD, and $700 for Performance AWD under its 15,000-mile, 55% city and 45% highway assumptions. Local electricity prices can change the result. The site says to personalize those costs.
New versus used is not a single price question. New is known coverage and a current finance offer. Used is a price gap and a warranty clock. Value is what remains after both clocks are counted.
What fees are added when ordering a Tesla Model Y?
A new Model Y order adds a non-refundable order fee, a non-negotiable Destination Fee, tax, and other local charges; home charging equipment also belongs in the budget even though it is separate from the vehicle purchase price.
Tesla’s ordering guidance says the order fee is a one-time, non-refundable credit-card payment. It also says the Destination Fee covers shipment from the factory to the delivery location and applies to all new Tesla orders. Tesla does not state the exact order fee or Destination Fee in the supplied ordering source, so the Model Y L’s $1,640 combined difference is the only published combined figure here.
The same guidance says credit cards cannot be used for the down payment or final payment. Tesla lists electronic check in the app, wire transfer, and certified check as final-payment methods. It also directs buyers to plan for home charging and accessories before delivery. Treat charging equipment as its own line, not as an invisible part of the car price.
For a Tesla Certified Pre-Owned car, Tesla says the deposit is $500 and generally non-refundable. Moving the vehicle to a closer delivery center can add a non-refundable $500 to $2,500 transport fee. Each certified vehicle passes a 119-point inspection and includes a Pre-Owned Vehicle Limited Warranty plus any remaining original coverage, according to Tesla’s Certified Pre-Owned ordering page.
A used listing deserves its own record check. Tesla makes an AutoCheck history report available for Certified Pre-Owned vehicles. The purchase paperwork is not a substitute for a safety check; buyers evaluating a vehicle concern can also use this site’s guide on reporting a suspected safety defect before a recall.
Financing can reverse the apparent bargain. Tesla advertises 1.99% APR for qualified buyers of new Model Y RWD, AWD, Premium RWD, and Premium AWD vehicles for terms up to 72 months. Its example is $14.76 per $1,000 financed. The Performance rate is advertised at 3.99%, or $15.67 per $1,000. The offer is for well-qualified buyers with excellent credit, and Tesla says used vehicles are not eligible for the stated new-vehicle loan-interest deduction or free Supercharging trade-in offer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a new 2027 Model Y or a used Model Y?
Buy new when the advertised financing rate, full new-vehicle warranty, and any eligible new-car offers leave little gap versus used. Buy Tesla Certified Pre-Owned when its lower price still leaves enough room for a $500 deposit, any $500 to $2,500 transport fee, and less remaining original warranty. Compare the final financed cost, not the listing price alone.
Do Tesla financing promotions make a new Model Y cheaper than used?
They can. Tesla advertises 1.99% APR for qualified buyers on selected new Model Y trims for terms up to 72 months, with a stated example of $14.76 per $1,000 financed; Performance is advertised at 3.99%, or $15.67 per $1,000. Used vehicles do not qualify for the stated new-vehicle financing promotion or the eligible federal loan-interest deduction described by Tesla.
Will the 2027 Model Y lose value quickly?
No source supplied publishes a 2027 Model Y depreciation forecast. Tesla has changed Model Y prices and lineup placement during a model year, including the $41,990 AWD variant Reuters reported in February 2026. That makes resale value uncertain and makes the purchase price paid today more important than a predicted future resale number.



